The Monastery of St. Dadi, otherwise called Dadivank (The “Monastery of Dadi” in Armenian), is the largest monastic complex in Nagorno-Karabakh Republic and Artsakh and one of the true masterpieces of Armenian medieval architecture. The central building of the monastery, the Memorial Cathedral, was erected in the year 1214 by the Queen Arzou of Haterk. The interior walls of the Memorial Cathedral are richly decorated with frescoes. It is located in the northwestern part of the Martakert Province of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic, on the territory of Artsakh’s historical province of Upper Khachen.
According to the legend, the monastery was founded at the end of the 1st century and named after one of apostle Jude’s disciples, St. Dadi, who martyred preaching Christianity in the Eastern Territory of Armenia. Dadivank was first mentioned in medieval chronicles in the 9th century. After recent archaeological excavations the remains of the St. Dadi were found and blessed by His Grace Archbishop Barkev Martirossian, the primate of the diocese of Artsakh.
Dadivank Monastery was re-consecrated in 1994 and nowadays is on the list of acting monasteries of the Artsakh Diocese of the Armenian Apostolic Church. Beginning in August 2004, the Memorial Complex of Dadivank Monastery undergoes fundamental architectural restoration. The works of restoration were sponsored by Armenian-American businesswoman Edele Hovnanian. The restoration of the Katoghike (the main domed church of the complex) has been completed. The chapel (built in the 13th century) of Dadivank Complex was restored by Edik Abrahamian (Tehran, Iran).