Building At 32 Hanrapetutyan Street In Yerevan - A Cultural Heritage Of Armenia
This beautiful building, located at 32 Hanrapetutyan Street in Yerevan, was built in the 19th century. It is unique among the architectural monuments preserved in Yerevan, with its external ornamentation and rich frescoes.
It was designed by Michael von der Nonne, who in 1876-1909 was the architect of Erivan Governorate.
The interior walls of the building are decorated with luxurious frescoes. Here you can see both elements of oriental frescoes and Armenian decorative motifs - images of crosses, borders and flora are often found in the iconography of Armenian frescoes and khachkars. There are also some elements characteristic of Russian classicism and monumental art, for example, flowers in vases. The chandelier, which was hung in the room in 1927, was designed by architect Alexander Tamanyan himself.
The facade of the building from the side of the courtyard is also decorated with architectural ornaments and is built of polished tuffa stone. The entrance to the building is through the vestibule at the end of the adjacent building. The building has a basement, which is currently not accessible to visitors.
In the 1890s, the building was the residence of the Persian consul in Erivan. After the establishment of Soviet rule, all the consulates were moved to Moscow, and the building was transferred to the Armenian Relief Committee, chaired by the great Armenian poet Hovhannes Tumanyan.
Later, the building was handed over to the Bolsheviks and turned into an evening school of the Communist Party. Then the school was moved and for some time the building was not used. Once, the building served as an office for the Prosecutor of the Armenian Army.
Since 1963, this building housed the Armenian Committee for the Protection of Monuments, which was headed by the famous Armenian painter Martiros Saryan.
Today, the building is considered the property of the Yerevan community, where the Public Organization ICOMOS Armenia (Armenian National Committee of the International Council for the Preservation of Monuments and Sites) operates.